Bob Roberts and Leo Zulueta

More from 1984’s ‘Signatures of the Soul’, this time featuring Bob Roberts and Leo Zulueta.
Another “pre-glove” classic. It’s so strange to watch folks tattoo without gloves on; especially considering that most artists were autoclaving their needles and tubes by then, but not wearing gloves, covering their clip chords, etc. I always wonder if I should add postscripts on the videos reminding people that gloves should always be worn, that this is archived from a different time and all that. Food for thought.

I’m not sure if the documentary is available anywhere for purchase, but if you can snag a copy anywhere, I highly recommend it. It’s a great primer for world tattoo traditions (American, Japanese, Samoan) and features great footage of some of the 80s best tattoo artists.

2 comments

  1. Nice footage of Bob and Leo! I love Bob’s hair! Classic!

    As far as your thoughts on the post scripts, I would say only if you feel really obligated legally… people who know are doing it already and scratchers aren’t going to bother anyways IMO 😉

    Like

Speak up!