Nostalgia is Coming Back

I just captured this footage from a 1987 Documentary called “Colored People Invade San Diego” and by sheer coincidence it features a Kaiju themed bodysuit from Mike Malone and two amazing Japanese Tattoo artists working in the traditional hand poke style. Synchronicity at it’s best given what’s been going on in the world over the last week. My thoughts go out to the citizens of Japan and their loved ones abroad who’ve been affected by the terrible Earthquakes/Tsunami. I’ve spoken to my friends in Japan and everyone is alright. Small blessings but so much devastation to work through.

The end of the excerpt features Paul Rogers talking about machine building. I could have listened to him talk for hours, regrettably the documentary only featured this short clip. Sometimes we have to take what we can get.

 

 

7 comments

  1. I started backing up whole movies, but ran out of hard drive space (I convert on an older macbook) since the videos take up so much space uncompressed.

    At some point I’ll upgrade, but until then they’re on VHS and snippets of digital.

    Like

  2. I try to not commit to making copies of anything, save for what goes up online. In the end, I have more people who want copies than time to make them, trips to the post office, etc.

    Like

      1. Depends on the film-
        CPISD was made by tattooer Crazy Ace.
        Most of the Hardy stuff (except for Tattoo City) was made by Metamorphosis II out of San Fran. The Royboy stuff was made by Royboy. All different folks.

        Like

Speak up!