More Frisco Skin and Tattoo Ink- Daniel Higgs

There’s a danger with this blog of becoming overinflated with Daniel Higgs content.
Certainly there’s no denying his monumental influence on most of the people who’re reading this; but I have to be careful not to tip the balance too far in one direction, particularly when there are so many folks out there currently tattooing that are putting on amazing designs that we could be showcasing. Which is something I hope to start doing soon.

But since I’m trying to get as much of this old video content up as possible- I present another (very short) Higgs clip from the indispensable “Frisco Skin and Tattoo Ink” video.There’s so much amazing content in that video- the interviews with Lyle Tuttle, Henry Goldfield… if I posted everything that I loved from it I’d end up uploading the whole dang thing.

This clip features Daniel talking about Greg Kulz, who was working at Erno’s when Daniel was still there.
Greg was one of those guys who more indirectly influenced me- his mostly black and spiny work didn’t appeal to me as something I’d consider wearing on myself,  but I couldn’t help but be impressed by his Jack Kirby influenced monster sketches.  His back piece (by fellow San Franciscan Vaughn)  is iconic in it’s own right and my limited interaction (chatting briefly on facebook) with him has shown him to be a really nice guy. What more could you ask for?

Higgs tattooing a black cat?

You get that too!

One comment

Speak up!