Cleft for Me

Rock of Ages, cleft for me, let me hide myself in thee

I’ve contemplated a ‘Rock of Ages’ tattoo since picking up the Hardy Marks book of the same name in 1992. The interpretations varied radically while containing the same central ideology and over the years I’ve considered several different incarnations of it to wear. This painting by my friend David Bruehl doesn’t stray too far from the classic design while still incorporating his own iconography. David tattoos in Norman, OK at Think Ink- you can read a (admittedly dated) interview with David here.

Speak up!

