Skull Defekts feat. Daniel Higgs

Daniel Higgs with Skull Defekts, Danger Danger Gallery 7th April 2011

My buddy Klint and I braved West Philly and staying up past our bedtimes to catch Skull Defekts featuring Daniel Higgs (along with Asa Osborne’s ZOMES) tonight at the ‘Danger Danger Gallery’ on Baltimore Avenue. It was our first time at the venue, which is little more than a house with two entrances and a bunch of stairs. As we made our way upstairs (only to immediately head back downstairs) I noticed a hamper of laundry and a bunch of unread mail on the floor. A little more informal than I’m used to, but everyone was pretty chill and made our evening go by without too many snags.

Except for everything running late.

The venue is laid out on two floors- the four bands that played straddled the floors in time- Band 1 playing in the basement, Band 2 (Zomes) playing on the main floor, 3 in the basement and Defekts & Higgs on main. One after the other, with folks heading up and down the stairs as each set ended. Bit odd, but hey- if you have the space you might as well use it. I only ventured into the basement once; it smelled like drying latex paint, moldy basement and onions. With apologies to the other two bands, I didn’t return back downstairs, choosing instead to shoot the breeze with Klint, who I hadn’t seen since Higgs’s solo show at Brickbat last year. We hung in the back for the Zomes performance (which was good, but as Klint pointed out, much better recorded) but eventually made our way to the front for the Defekts, so I could utilize my little handheld video-doohickey and record (in my day we called it bootlegging- like Rerun at the Doobie Brothers show) the show.

I figured the lighting would be terrible and that I’d eventually end up with unwatchable video and passable audio; but thankfully they drowned the stage with two industrial construction style lights, making not only sauna like conditions, but great lighting for my little kodak. I just sort of held it close to my chest and hoped that I’d get good material- considering that they played a new track that’s not on the PEER AMID album titled ‘Children of Skull Defekts’ I really wanted to make sure to not wobble around too much.

All in all it was a great show; really good seeing Daniel in front of a band again (his LUNGFISH shows were always a good time) and I was really impressed with the Skull Defekts. I’m editing the videos I shot now, with an update expected by early Friday morning.

Picture above courtesy of Klint/Truthcult.

Speak up!

